21 Sep 2022 by lbigmr

Justice speaks: How we protect children and their rights

When:

Tue, 27 September 2022, 18:30-19:30

Where:

Federal Ministry of Justice, small ballroom, Museumsstraße 7, 1070 Vienna

The Minister of Justice Alma Zadić invites to the discussion event “Justice speaks: How we protect children and their rights”. Our colleague Helmut Sax, child rights expert and senior researcher at the LBI-GMR, will join the discussion.

Together with the Minister of Justice Alma Zadić and and the children’s rights experts Elisabeth Schaffelhofer-Garcia Marquez and Hedwig Wölfl he will discuss how children’s rights can be made even more central to politics and thus become the basis of all state action. In addition, the experts will explore, what further measures need to be taken to strengthen children and young people, to promote their development and to secure their rights in the long term.

The background: For more than ten years, central children’s rights have been enshrined in the Federal Constitutional Law on the Rights of Children (BVG Kinderrechte) and are thus part of the Austrian Constitution. The BVG Kinderrechte is an important instrument for the protection of children’s rights in Austria. In practice, however, it becomes apparent time and again that reality falls short of the claim.

The discussion will be streamed live via the Minister of Justice’s Facebook page and the website of the Ministry of Justice.

For reasons of space, only a limited number of audience members can participate. Please register at zntqnyran.fgrea1@ozw.ti.ng. Seats will be allocated on a first-come-first-served basis. The current Covid-19 regulations at the time of the event apply.

icon / home icon / small arrow right / light Veranstaltungen icon / small arrow right / light Justiz spricht: Wie wir Kinder und ihre Rechte schützen
21 Sep 2022 von lbigmr

Justiz spricht: Wie wir Kinder und ihre Rechte schützen

Wann:

Di., 27. September 2022, 18:30-19:30 Uhr

Wo:

Bundesministerium für Justiz, Kleiner Festsaal, Museumsstraße 7, 1070 Wien

Justizministerin Alma Zadić lädt zur Diskussionsveranstaltung „Justiz spricht: Wie wir Kinder und ihre Rechte schützen“ ein. Mit dabei ist u.a. unser Kollege Helmut Sax, Experte für Kinderrechte und Senior Researcher am LBI-GMR.

Mit Justizministerin Alma Zadić sowie den Kinderrechtsexpertinnen Elisabeth Schaffelhofer-Garcia Marquez und Hedwig Wölfl wird er darüber diskutieren, wie Kinderrechte noch stärker in den Fokus der Politik rücken können. Thematisiert wird weiters, inwiefern das Kindeswohl zur Grundlage jeden staatlichen Handelns werden kann. Außerdem gehen die Expert:innen der Frage nach, welche Maßnahmen gesetzt werden müssen, um Kinder und Jugendliche weiter zu stärken, ihre Entwicklung zu fördern und ihre Rechte nachhaltig zu sichern.

Zum Hintergrund: Seit über zehn Jahren sind zentrale Kinderrechte im Bundesverfassungsgesetz über die Rechte von Kindern (BVG Kinderrechte) festgeschrieben und damit Teil der österreichischen Verfassung. Das BVG Kinderrechte ist ein wichtiges Instrument für den Schutz von Kinderrechten in Österreich. In der Praxis zeigt sich aber immer wieder, dass die Realität hinter dem Anspruch zurückbleibt.

Die Diskussion wird über die Facebook-Seite der Justizministerin und die Webseite des Justizministeriums live gestreamt.

Anmeldungen sind per Mail an zntqnyran.fgrea1@ozw.ti.ng möglich. Die Plätze werden nach dem First-Come-First-Serve-Prinzip vergeben. Es gelten die zu zum Veranstaltungstermin aktuellen Corona-Regelungen.