FLIGHTRISK: Assessing the risk of flight during pre-trial detention

About the Project

Research Topic & Roadmap

Prison overcrowding  is a well-known pan-European phenomenon that has been fostering inhumane and degrading treatment during detention for many years. Reducing pre-trial detention offers a sustainable solution to counteract this development.

The project starts from this premise and investigates the most common reason for pre-trial detention in the EU: flight risk (the risk of absconding). It will be carried out between June 2022 and May 2024 in five EU Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Ireland and Poland). The objective of the project is to identify and mitigate the causes for the increased use of pre-trial detention.

The Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Fundamental and Human Rights will conduct the research on the Austrian national context as a project partner.

Research Focus

The project will focus on the following aspects:

  • Strengthening human rights standards in relation to the imposition of pre-trial detention
  • Analysing the national decision-making practices in imposing pre-trial detention by both the judiciary and the public prosecution office, particularly with regard to flight risk
  • Assessing to which extent decisions regarding pre-trial detention as well as the application of less severe means are influenced by the circumstance that the person concerned is in a particularly vulnerable situation (e.g. marginalised persons)

Other research projects that focused on reducing pre-trial detention (e.g. EAW-ALT) already demonstrated that the issue is highly relevant in Austria. The research results are supported by the statistics from recent years: in 2019, Austria reached a record high in the number of detained persons. Also now, almost every fifth detainee is being held in pre-trial detention.

Consequently, the Austrian context offers further distinct aspects that have not been investigated until now and on which the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Fundamental and Human Rights will focus its research:

  • According to current data , the reason for pre-trial detention is no longer predominantly the risk of absconding alone– a development that needs to be analysed.
  • Austria also lends itself to analysis from the perspective of equality and non-discrimination, as 65% of the prison population in pre-trial detention do not hold Austrian citizenship. This figure is the highest compared to the partner countries.

Research Method

The research includes case law analysis, data analysis and consultations with judges, prosecutors, lawyers and civil society representatives.

Project Data

Contact

Giuliana Monina

Head of Programme Line

+43 1 4277-27439 tvhyvnan.zbavan@tze.yot.np.ng

FLIGHTRISK: Beurteilung der Fluchtgefahr bei der Untersuchungshaft

Über das Projekt

Forschungsgegenstand & -fahrplan

Die Überbelegung von Gefängnissen ist ein seit Jahren bekanntes gesamteuropäisches Phänomen, das unmenschliche und erniedrigende Behandlungen während der Haft begünstigt. Die Reduzierung der Untersuchungshaft ist eine nachhaltige Lösung, dieser Entwicklung entgegenzuwirken.

Das Projekt setzt an diesem Punkt an und untersucht zwischen Juni 2022 und Mai 2024 in fünf EU-Mitgliedsstaaten (Belgien, Bulgarien, Irland, Polen und Österreich) den in der EU häufigsten Grund für Untersuchungshaft: die Fluchtgefahr. Ziel des Projekts ist es, Ursachen für die vermehrte Anordnung von Untersuchungshaft zu ermitteln und zu entkräften.

Als Projektpartner wird das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Grund- und Menschenrechte (LBI-GMR) die Recherche zum nationalen Kontext Österreichs betreiben.

Schwerpunkte

Im Fokus des Projekts stehen folgende Aspekte:

  • Stärkung menschenrechtlicher Standards in Bezug auf die Untersuchungshaft
  • Analyse der Entscheidungsgrundlagen der nationalen Staatsanwaltschaften und Gerichte, insbesondere betreffend Fluchtgefahr
  • Untersuchung der Beurteilungsunterschiede bei der Verhängung der Untersuchungshaft und Anwendung gelinderer Mittel aufgrund der Zugehörigkeit zu einem Personenkreis in einer besonders vulnerablen Situation (z.B. marginalisierte Personen)

Bereits abgeschlossene Forschungsprojekte zum Thema Reduzierung der Untersuchungshaft (z.B. EAW-ALT) zeugen von der hohen Relevanz des Themas in Österreich. Sie werden durch die Statistiken der letzten Jahre untermauert: 2019 wurde hierzulande ein Höchststand an inhaftierten Personen erreicht. Auch derzeit befindet sich fast jede fünfte inhaftierte Person dabei in Untersuchungshaft.

Der österreichische Kontext bietet weitere, bisher nicht untersuchte Besonderheiten, auf welche das LBI-GMR seinen Forschungsschwerpunkt legen wird:

  • Nach aktuellen Daten wird Fluchtgefahr nicht mehr überwiegend alleine als Haftgrund geführt– eine Entwicklung, die zu analysieren ist.
  • Auch unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Gleichstellung und Nichtdiskriminierung bietet sich Österreich für eine Analyse an, da 65% der Gefängnispopulation in Untersuchungshaft nicht die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft besitzen. Diese Zahl ist im Vergleich zu den Partnerländern am höchsten.

Methodik

Die Forschungsarbeit umfasst u.a. die Analyse der Rechtsprechung, Datenauswertung und Konsultationen mit Richter:innen, Staatsanwält:innen, Rechtsanwält:innen sowie Vertreter:innen der Zivilgesellschaft.

Projektdaten

Kontakt

Giuliana Monina

Programmlinienleiterin

+43 1 4277-27439 tvhyvnan.zbavan@tze.yot.np.ng